(1) Appreciation Monument
A monument referring to the history of the old Hiro-mura village and erected in December, 1933 to recall the virtues of the numerous ancestors who have protected Hiro-mura village from disaster and developed it, and finally to praise the achievements and virtue of Hamaguchi goryo.
Words carved on the monument
(2) “Inamura-no-Hi” Square in front of the Hirogawa-cho Town office
Square in front of the Hirogawa-cho Town office where the “Inamura-no-Hi” story is reproduced.
(3) Hiromura Bank
In February, 1855 (Ansei 2), Hamaguchi goryo, who had experienced the tsunami of 1854 (Ansei 1), consulted with Hamaguchi Kichiemon and commenced construction of a large breakwater 5 m high, 20 m wide at the base and 600 m long on top of the stone wave-breaker which had been built by the Hatakeyama clan in the Middle Ages, and completed it in December, 1858 (Ansei 5).
He spent his own money on the construction costs, which was 94 Kan and 344 Monme (1,572 Ryo) of silver, and employed a total of 56,376 villagers. And hence prevented the villagers leaving their village that had been devastated by the tsunami.
The breakwater and tomb of Hamaguchi goryo were designated historic sites on December 14, 1938.
Taikyu-sha was established by Hamaguchi goryo, Hamaguchi Toukou and Iwasaki Meigaku as a training camp (private academy) for swordplay and Chinese classics in 1852 (Kaei 5) at the end of the Edo period. After some changes, it became the currently in use Taikyu Junior High School.
Designated as a historic site by Wakayama Prefecture on April 1, 1958 (Showa 33).
(5) Bronze Statue of Hamaguchi goryo
Erected in the schoolyard of Taikyu Junior High School in January 1967 (Showa 42).
(6) Tomb of Hamaguchi goryo
The tomb of Hamaguchi goryo is on the southeast base of Mt. Tan-nou. The words “tomb of Hamaguchi goryo” and “erected by Gihee VIII on April 21, 1885” were carved on the front and side of the tomb, respectively.
(7) Hamaguchi goryo Monument
A monument erected after the death of Hamaguchi goryo to praise his achievements and virtues. Requested to do so by Hamaguchi Kinta, Katsu Awa (Kaishu) composed and wrote the inscription. The monument was erected on a corner of the mountain side within the precincts of Hirohachiman Shrine in April, 1893 (Meiji 26).
(8) Inamura-no-Hi no Yakata
The Hamaguchi goryo Archives, where visitors can learn of his achievements, and the Tsunami Educational Center, where visitors can learn about “the fire of rice sheaves” and practical earthquake and tsunami prevention for use in future earthquakes and tsunamis, were established by rebuilding a sukiya-style wooden house in April, 2007 (Heisei 19) on land related to Hamaguchi goryo.